Heroin

Today I gave my patient alcohol wipes to take home with him. He’s a daily IV heroin addict and had the characteristic nodules across each arm from hitting up.

I told him he had to quit. But then I told him that I knew it wasn’t going to happen any time soon. So here’s what I made him promise instead: throw out all the use needles in his house and only use new ones from here on out, and always clean his skin before hitting the vein. 

Some battles will be won in a day. Other battles will not.

Leave a Reply

